March 12, 2007, 09:09:44 am

Author Topic: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....  (Read 6155 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline The Crazy Animal

  • Administrator
  • Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 2448
  • Karma: +18/-20
(FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« on: March 04, 2008, 11:07:26 pm »
This is all you need to stop megamud from running to the east three rooms:

Message: Please enter your username or "new":
Reply: "USERNAME"^M"PASSWORD"^M

Message: Please enter your selection:
Replay: G^ME^M^M^M


Animal

Offline Vitoc

  • Administrator
  • Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 1610
  • Karma: +26/-12
  • Insanity Ensues
    • WebMUD
Re: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2008, 12:34:48 am »
Ok... so call me crazy but I never had to enter any special crap to get the logon thing to work properly and not once have I ever watched Mega try to go east at all when I enter.

The one thing that stands out to me is people are talking about this =a or ;a thing that Mega is doing to enable ansi.  Perhaps this has something to do with it?  I've never used it (ever) and please note that TGS always assumes you are using ansi even if you aren't, so whether your terminal program can render it properly or not, you're getting the ansi codes.

I'm willing to help everyone figure out what the problem is, but please note it's not difficult to get this working.  We're not going to switch the GREATERMUD prompt to say MAJORMUD and that's just not negotiable.


TGS v1.0 (coming soon)

Offline Ian

  • Savant
  • *****
  • Posts: 450
  • Karma: +8/-9
Re: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2008, 12:57:54 am »
Ok... so call me crazy but I never had to enter any special crap to get the logon thing to work properly and not once have I ever watched Mega try to go east at all when I enter.

Latency.
If we can hit that bulls-eye, the rest of the dominoes will fall like a house of cards.  Check-mate!

Offline The Crazy Animal

  • Administrator
  • Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 2448
  • Karma: +18/-20
Re: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2008, 09:49:31 am »
Ok... so call me crazy but I never had to enter any special crap to get the logon thing to work properly and not once have I ever watched Mega try to go east at all when I enter.

The one thing that stands out to me is people are talking about this =a or ;a thing that Mega is doing to enable ansi.  Perhaps this has something to do with it?  I've never used it (ever) and please note that TGS always assumes you are using ansi even if you aren't, so whether your terminal program can render it properly or not, you're getting the ansi codes.

I haven't seen the thing with the =a or ;a switch happening ever.... However mine does flip out as soon as it tries to answer the userpromp and password prompt and continues untill it notices that it is in the game. So I think it probably has less to do with the greatermud module and more todo with the TGS menus.

I've also noticed even this loggin script messing up from time to time landing me 3 rooms east of where ever I was. However that only seems to happen right after an update when not many people have logged in yet.

Its really hard to tell what could be causing it other then perhaps what Ian mentioned as being latency... It does look like it's a timing issue that causes it to repeat the last sent command. However it could be something else.


Offline Vitoc

  • Administrator
  • Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 1610
  • Karma: +26/-12
  • Insanity Ensues
    • WebMUD
Re: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2008, 01:22:31 pm »
I'm still convinced there's something else going on here, and I don't believe it has anything to do with latency.

As I think I mentioned, not once have I ever had this "running east" problem.  The only problem I do have is the username/password switch that happens.  I think I will actually spend a few minutes tonight working on a solution for this.  After that we'll have to track down why some of you have this problem and not others.


TGS v1.0 (coming soon)

Offline The Crazy Animal

  • Administrator
  • Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 2448
  • Karma: +18/-20
Re: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2008, 05:37:19 pm »
Even with my odd loggin script I sometimes still end up 3 rooms east.

Offline Gardner Denver

  • Coder of Utilities
  • Administrator
  • Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 2712
  • Karma: +41/-54
    • Quest-ware.net
Re: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2008, 12:04:53 am »
2 things you may want to look at in Megamud.

1.  Game entry commands

2.  Statline settings in Megamud  (This can cause all kinds of grief if the statline in the game doesn't match the statline megamud expects to find)

My $0.02 worth

DeathCow

  • Guest
Re: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2008, 07:29:02 pm »
I've never had my logon move my character.

Offline Gardner Denver

  • Coder of Utilities
  • Administrator
  • Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 2712
  • Karma: +41/-54
    • Quest-ware.net
Re: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2008, 01:43:19 pm »
It is possible that some small burst of lag is causing the problem.

Many times I've seen megamud try to resend a command it doesn't think was accepted.

That would fit with the 3x E commands on entry.

Perhaps Megamud not realizing it's in the game yet and resending the E to enter the game.

There is a "Lag pause" setting in Megamud, maybe try setting that to a 1 and see if it helps.

Offline The Crazy Animal

  • Administrator
  • Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 2448
  • Karma: +18/-20
Re: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2008, 06:43:22 pm »
Might be worth a try...

Offline Gardner Denver

  • Coder of Utilities
  • Administrator
  • Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 2712
  • Karma: +41/-54
    • Quest-ware.net
Re: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2008, 07:40:32 pm »
Tonight was my 1st time to log on to GM using Megamud.  I got the =a thing too.

Welcome to the official TGS test server!
Please enter your username or "new":
Please enter your username or "new": gardner denver
Please enter your password: *******
Welcome back, Gardner Denver!

Main Menu
---------
G : GreaterMUD
T : Teleconference

X : Exit

Please enter your selection: =a
Invalid command!

Main Menu
---------
G : GreaterMUD
T : Teleconference

X : Exit

Please enter your selection:Welcome to the official TGS test server!
Please enter your username or "new":
Please enter your username or "new": gardner denver
Please enter your password: *******
Welcome back, Gardner Denver!

Main Menu
---------
G : GreaterMUD
T : Teleconference

X : Exit

Please enter your selection: =a
Invalid command!


Main Menu
---------
G : GreaterMUD
T : Teleconference

X : Exit

Please enter your selection:

Offline The Crazy Animal

  • Administrator
  • Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 2448
  • Karma: +18/-20
Re: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2008, 12:18:39 am »
I've never gotten that...

Offline Gardner Denver

  • Coder of Utilities
  • Administrator
  • Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 2712
  • Karma: +41/-54
    • Quest-ware.net
Re: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2008, 05:25:32 pm »
Thought I might copy this post into this thread since it deals with this very issue:

Ok the patch is ready if anyone wants it.  I tested the relog and it works just fine.  The log on automation will also work as intended now, so no more having to put an E^M to get it to enter Greatermud.

Please please please please read the ENTIRE page before you download and install this patch.

Click here for the patch web page.

Offline Minorgod

  • Noob Sauce
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: (FAQ) Logon Script For MegaMud....
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2017, 06:29:45 pm »
Sorry to necro this thread. but I know the way to properly make Megamud behave when logging in.

make sure your correct ini is loaded.... options>settings>BBS tab. select bbs in question> hit edit.

Add these messages and replies exactly as they are. DO NOT replace {userid} with your user id. {userid} is the command in megamud to pull the id from the account section to the right of the bbs list. Same for {pswd}

Message:                           Reply:

Please enter your username   {userid}^M
Please enter your password   {pswd}^M
Please enter your sel                   g^M
[GREATERMUD]                   e^M
Please select a realm                1^M

Click ok
still in the BBS tab to the right of the BBS list, keeping the bbs in question selected, place your user id and your password in their respective places. hit ok.

you should now be able to login with no issues or random e's or need a patch. lag will not affect this either as it will have to see the prompts in order to react to the prompts.


if you play the pvp realm replace 1^M with the correct selection for that. 2 i think it is.


« Last Edit: March 08, 2017, 06:31:17 pm by Minorgod »